

JOHN LOGSDON



In September 2008, John M. Logsdon became the Lindbergh Chair in Aerospace History at the National Air and Space Museum in Washington, DC.

Prior to this one-year appointment, Logsdon was on the faculty of the George Washington University for 38 years. He remains Professor Emeritus of Political Science and International Affairs. He was the founder in 1987 and long-time Director of the Space Policy Institute at GW's Elliott School of International Affairs.

From 1983-2001, he was also Director of the School's Center for International Science and Technology Policy. From 1966-1970 he taught at the Catholic University of America. He holds a B.S. in Physics from Xavier University (1960) and a Ph.D. in Political Science from New York University (1970).

During the 2007-2008 academic year, he was a Distinguished Visiting Professor at MIT's Science, Technology and Society Program on a part-time basis. He holds a B.S. in Physics from Xavier University (1960) and a Ph.D. in Political Science from New York University (1970).

Logsdon's research interests focus on the policy and historical aspects of U.S. and international space activities. Dr. Logsdon is the author of *The Decision to Go to the Moon: Project Apollo and the National Interest* and is general editor of the eight-volume series *Exploring the Unknown: Selected Documents in the History of the U.S. Civil Space Program.* He has written numerous articles and reports on space policy and history, and authored the basic article on "space exploration" for the most recent edition of Encyclopedia Britannica. Dr. Logsdon has lectured and spoken to a wide variety of audiences at professional meetings, colleges and universities, international conferences, and other settings, and has testified before Congress on several occasions. He has served as a consultant to many public and private organizations. He is frequently consulted by the electronic and print media for his views on space issues.

Logsdon is a member of the NASA Advisory Council and, until October 2008, of the Commercial Space Transportation Advisory Committee of the Department of Transportation. In 2003 he served as a member of the Columbia Accident Investigation Board. He is a recipient of the Distinguished Public Service and Public Service Medals from NASA, the 2005 John F. Kennedy Astronautics Award from the American Astronautical Society, and the 2006 Barry Goldwater Space Educator Award from the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.

He is a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and a member of the International Academy of Astronautics and former Chair of its Commission on Space Policy, Law, and Economics. He is a former member of the Board of Directors of the Planetary Society and member of the Society's Advisory Council. He is faculty member of the International Space University and former member of its Board of Trustees. He is on the editorial board of the international journal *Space Policy* and was its North American editor from 1985-2000. He is also on the editorial board of the journal *Astropolitics*.

Logsdon has served as a member of a blue-ribbon international committee evaluating Japan's National Space Development Agency and of the Committee on Human Space Exploration of the Space Studies Board, National Research Council. He has also served on the Vice President's Space Policy Advisory Board, the Aeronautics and Space Engineering Board of the National Research Council, NASA's Space and Earth Sciences Advisory Committee, and the Research Advisory Committee of the National Air and Space Museum. He has served as the Director of the District of Columbia Space Grant Consortium.

He is former Chairman of the Committee on Science and Public Policy of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and of the Education Committee of the International Astronautical Federation. He has twice been a Fellow at the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars and in1982-1983 was the first holder of the Chair in Space History of the National Air and Space Museum.